As a Maryland college student, you probably have more than a passing acquaintance with marijuana. While public perception of this drug and its effects on young people has changed significantly over the years, you nevertheless need to keep in mind that marijuana possession is still prohibited in Maryland.
The good news is that if law enforcement officers catch you with no more than 10 grams of marijuana, at least this is not a crime. You do, however, face paying a $100 fine if this is your first conviction. The fine increases to $250 on your second conviction, and could be as high as $500 for your third and subsequent convictions. In addition, if you are a minor under 21 years of age, the court will require you to submit to a clinical substance abuse assessment and complete a drug education program.